Link to the St Sampsons Bells on Spotlight… https://www.facebook.com/share/v/189gVWwsgy/

Link to the St Sampsons Bells on Spotlight… https://www.facebook.com/share/v/189gVWwsgy/


Who doesn’t love the sound of church bells? For most of us they are part of the fabric of our lives. For centuries church bells have rung out to mark personal, local and national events. St Sampson’s bells had been silent for over 50 years. But having raised over £30,000 the bells have been restored and their unique sound can be heard chiming out across the parish once again.
So what is the story of the bells of St Sampson’s Church South Hill?
As church bells go, ours are relatively old, and they are listed as “worthy of preservation”.
The four oldest bells were made (‘cast’ is the technical term) in 1698 by Devon bellfounders John Pennington of Tavistock and John Stadler of Chulmleigh. They may have been cast here, in the churchyard, which was common practice. The tuning suggests that there was probably a fifth bell, but this was replaced in 1831 by the current fifth and largest bell, the tenor, cast by William Pannell and his son Charles, of Cullompton.
The bells of 1698 probably replaced even older ones. In 1684 Sampson Manaton died and, in his will, left £10 to the Churchwardens of South Hill to be paid to them within one month after they “new cast those three bells & make them fine”. It looks as if there were already at least three bells at St Sampson’s before 1684 – and Sampson Manaton didn’t think much of them.
Originally church bells were handbells, used by early missionaries like St Sampson to call people to worship. By the late 900s most churches had hanging bells of some sort and wheel mounted bells became widespread by the late 1500s. Ringing ‘changes’, like the type of bellringing we know today, was taking place by the mid 1600s so Sampson Manaton, local gentry, perhaps wanted his church at South Hill to follow the fashion.
Sampson’s instruction to “new cast those bells” suggests that the old bells were to be melted down and made into new ones. If this was so, our existing bells retain something of the originals which were there before 1684.
Sampson Manaton’s will and the five bells give clues to stories of the parish. Each bell has an inscription recording the names of the churchwardens/priest at the time and/or those who contributed towards the cost of the bells. It is awesome to think that we are hearing what the people named on the bells in 1698 and 1831 would have heard. Written on the inside tower wall is a series of numbers, we believe this to be the “tunes” rung by the bell ringers of long ago and hope to programme our restored bells to reproduce a similar pattern.
Inscriptions on the four 1698 Pennington bells
Inscriptions on the 1831 Pannell bell
We know a little about some of these men (all men!) from the parish and other records, but it would be good to find out more.
We have found very little about bellringers at St Sampson’s. The late Charles Harding of Brookfield, South Hill, organist at St Sampson’s, used to chime one of the bells until about 2010, when the PCC was advised that the bell frame was unsafe, but we don’t know when they were last rung properly. The reports from the Bellfounders told us that, although the four bells of 1698 had been quarter turned in order to bring fresh faces to the blows of their clappers , presumably when the tenor had been recast or added in 1831, the tenor bell itself had not been turned. Taylors stated that “the relatively small amount of clapper wear on the bells suggests that they have not been rung a great deal since 1831 and given their current condition, they have probably not been rung for a number of decades”. This suggestion is given weight by a wonderful 1958 article in a bellringing journal, ‘The Ringing World’ headed “Examine Unringable Bells”. It tells of an expedition to St Sampson’s by six bellringers from Truro and London who persuaded the then Churchwardens, Mr Brock and Mr Brent, to allow them access to the previously forbidden bell chamber, following the retirement of the previous Rector, Rev. Marsh. Rev. Marsh had apparently refused to allow the bells to be rung because he thought them unsafe. The intrepid bellringers carried out an inspection, did a bit of oiling of metal parts and installed new bellropes. They pronounced the bells safe and proceeded to ring “a perfect six-score of Grandsire Doubles”. The article goes on to say that “one or two curious villagers made their way to the tower, and one of the churchwardens told us that this was the first time his sixteen year old daughter had heard the bells”.
After that exciting event, we suspect that the bells remained largely or completely silent for many years.
So why were the bells taken down and what happened next?
Advice from specialists from two different bell foundries was clear. The bell frame was dangerously rotten, the bell metal in the four oldest bells was too thin to be safely tuned without cracking and even if it was attempted “the bells are so far out of tune with modern expectations that sympathetic corrective tuning would not be possible”. In other words, they would sound awful. This was very disappointing, but the advice was clear. The bells could never be rung full circle again as they had been designed to and a decision had to be made.
In December 2020 the PCC reluctantly agreed to accept expert advice that the best solution was to remove the bells from the tower, have them properly conserved and restored by bellfounders Taylors of Loughborough, fitted with new headstocks, and rehung for stationary electronic chiming.
Thanks to local fundraising and grant funding £4,800 was raised, enough to begin the process. In November 2021, with the help of a great team of volunteers, the bells were brought down from the tower. We waved them off on the back of a flatbed truck, to be stored at Loughborough on the back of a flatbed truck, wondering if we would ever raise enough money to see them restored and returned.
Four years of fundraising from grants, events and generous donations secured the money. The final piece in the funding jigsaw was a grant from the National Lottery Heritage Fund and we instructed Taylors Bell Foundry to go ahead with the work. The old cast iron crownstaples were removed, with the canons retained. A hardwood headstock and steel support framework was fitted to each bell and an internal electromagnetic hammer. The bellframe was cleaned down and reinforced and an electric spur installed in the belfry.

On Monday 12th January the bells arrived home to a welcome from a small crowd, including children who had waved them off 4 years previously. It was almost dark when the lorry arrived from Loughborough and the driver was astonished at being greeted by an excited welcome committee. The next day about fifty people visited to view the bells before they were hoisted back into the tower, a process which took three days with the help of volunteers guided by our bell hanging experts from Taylors. They all found it an awesome once in a life time experience. On Thursday the electronics expert wired up and programmed the bells and by Friday afternoon we could near them ringing once more. What a memorable moment hearing our special St Sampson’s bells, ringing out around the parish of South Hill once more.
The story of St Sampson’s bells unite history and technology combining the ancient with the modern; old skilfully cast bells being heard again with the aid of new technology and skills. Our old rural church reflects enduring faith and family ties across centuries. The families belong to it and it to them. The people who originally heard the bells may have seen the world differently and lived different lifestyles to ours, but they would have heard the same bells in the same place and we are proud to enable this connection through time to continue.
We are grateful for the generous support of grant funders including The National Lottery Heritage Fund, Church Care, Aurelius Trust, The Elmgrant Trust, The Sharpe Trust, Garfield Weston Foundation, individual donors, local fundraisers, and fundraising events.
By Miranda Lawrance-Owen, Judith Ayers & Caroline Beckett
stsampsonssouthhill@gmail.com
Sources for the above information:
Transcripts of parish records in Miranda Lawrance-Owen’s possession
The National Archives
‘The Church Bells of Cornwall’, Dunkin, 1878
‘The Ringing World’ 10th October 1958
‘A Short History of English Church Bells and Bell Ringing’, Central Council of Church Bell Ringers, March 2017
Reports by Taylors & Nicholsons in possession of the PCC
Correspondence from Chris Pickford, volunteer archivist at Taylors
A big personal thank you for your continued support for St Sampson’s.
Restoration of St Sampson’s Church is progressing, helping preserve a Christian presence in South Hill and ensuring the heritage building remains accessible for community use now and in the future.
We continue to hold a weekly Sunday service. Our doors are open when the building works permit . Our parish hall is home to Sampson’s Supertots, a lively weekly toddler group, providing a welcoming space for local families. In April, we hosted another well-attended Easter trail and Easter egg hunt, and in the summer we held a children’s’ holiday club themed around Creation. We have hosted musical events, with performances by Barretts Privateers, Sam Sweeney, Aderyn String Quartet, plus the ‘Big Sing’, and a memorable Medieval Summer Fayre with a falconry display.

Work began on the Manaton Chapel in October and we had an exciting time with the archaeologist discovering four Manaton burial vaults, which needed to be excavated before the new floor could be built. This culminated in a wonderful and moving memorial service and concert to re inter the disturbed Manaton remains. We are awaiting the final report, results from facial reconstruction from some of the skulls and DNA analyses.

The week of January 13th 2026 saw the exciting return of our bells after a four year absence and 50 years silence. They are now ringing out once more. Over 50 people welcomed back the bells and were able to view them closely before they were hoisted back into the tower.
Since the start of the project we have raised an incredible £750,000 from over one hundred successful grant applications, many generous individual donations, and fundraising.
We are truly thriving in this lesser-known part of Cornwall.
2025 has been busy year and 2026 is promising to be equally busy! Below is a summary of our plans and everything the St Sampson’s Unlocked project has achieved so far.
Plus ongoing fundraising for the next phase: the remaining roof and ceiling works ( south aisle and chancel), south side rainwater goods, WC facilities, kitchen, flooring and redecoration.
The ending of the Listed Places of Worship VAT reclaim scheme has left us with even more funds to find, an extra 20% on all works. Which we particularly now need to raise for the Nave roof and ceiling works scheduled for October 2026. We were told recently our ‘roof batons are mush and slate nails are dust’, highlighting the urgency of these upcoming works.
Our work would not be possible without the generous support of a wide range of funders, including: National Lottery Heritage Fund, National Churches Trust, Headley Trust, Cornish Historic Churches Trust, Historic England, Baker Estates, Sabrina Sutherland Charitable Trust, Doctor and Mrs Alfred Darlington Charitable Trust, Jill Franklin Trust, Listed Places of Worship Grant Scheme, Cornwall Community Chest (Viscountess Boyd Charitable Trust), Trefinnick Solar Fund, Church Care, All Churches Trust, Congregational and General Charitable Trust, The Wolfson Foundation, Rural Churches Repair Fund, William and Jane Morris Foundation, Beatrice Laing Family Trust, Bells Gives Back, Swire Trust, Tesco Bags of Help, Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Sustainable Development Fund, Kingsgrove Charitable Trust, Lady Neville Charity, Lord Clinton’s Charitable Trust, Abba Charitable Trust, Ian Foulerton Charitable Trust, Peoples Postcode Lottery, Funds for Mission, Penuel Trust, National Grid Electricity Distribution, Worshipful Company of Ironmongers, Buildings for Mission – Truro Diocese, The Saint Andrew Conservation Trust, Quick Wins – Truro Diocese, Benefact Trust, Sharpe Trust, Elmgrant Trust, Choral Evensong Trust, Give to Go Green, Foyle Foundation, Garfield Weston Foundation, Aurelius Charitable Trust, Miss Anna Maria Gurney Charitable Fund, Fentogollan Farm, Brags Garden Supplies, and the Woodland Trust.
A sincere thank you to all our funders, large and small. This is a remarkable achievement for a small rural parish, and a true testament to our commitment to serving the South Hill community. If you would like to visit and chat with us about what we have achieved and our continuing progress and needs, please contact me below.
Watch this space!
Blessings,
Judith Ayers Local Lay Leader

On 10th November 2025 a public meeting was held at the Parish Hall to discuss options for the small field next to Moorland View in Golberdon.
Thank you to everyone who attended the meeting.
Chris Sims {Community Link Officer – Tamar to Moor Community Area Partnership}, Justine Rolfe {Affordable Housing Officer} and our Cornwall Councillor, Jim Gale were able to answer some of the numerous questions asked and concerns raised.
This presentation shows the main points covered at the meeting:
Cornwall Council owns this field, which produces very little income rented out at agricultural rates. They are proposing to sell it on the open market, unless there is an interest in the Community to use it for affordable housing.
The consensus from the meeting was that we need to know more about affordable housing and how that might be a possibility in Golberdon. The way forward and to get answers to our questions is to form an Affordable Housing Working Party which will ensure that the local community is involved in any development.
Copies of a questionnaire were handed out. Thank you to everyone who provided Justine with valuable information by answering the questions. She will very soon be providing a summary which will be posted here.
If you weren’t at the meeting, you can still complete this questionnaire and bring it to the meeting advertised below.
Around 10 people expressed an interest in being part of a Working Party. That is encouraging. If you want to help, the work won’t be on just a few people’s shoulders.
The Parish Hall has been booked for a first meeting:
The first thing to decide is Terms of Reference for the Working Party. See link to draft below. Next, we will be working towards submitting a pre-application to the planning department. We can also apply for a grant which is available to explore the possibility of forming a Community-Led Housing Organisation. Hopefully we can have another meeting early next year with Simon Ryan as guest speaker. Simon is part of Three Seas, a small independent housing creator for Cornwall.







Show August 16th

Prize Winners.
Entries need to be in on August 11th at the hall from 6:30 – 7:30pm or before
Continue reading





































































THANK YOU… Mel P, Richard S and Peter T for the photos….. if you have others to share with us please email editor@south-hill.co.uk
I’d love to see any of the 3 bands CODE RED, ROCKAHOLICS and THE METS and The Dog Show gazebo from Camelot Kennels THANK YOU.
At the Family Fun Day on Saturday May 24th, SHARE were celebrating, this their 10th year…


THE £20 QUIZ winner was Samantha Reid who correctly guessed 150 balloons would be filled from a car idling for one minute. Congratulations to everyone that guessed.
Members were kept busy, plus had Scalextric cars racing, powered by a solar panel, a child friendly interactive board explaining powering a home, an ironing board was set up showing ironing charged by an electric car! and a board asking for volunteers of some tasks that need filling, namely…
>Some one to read the solar meter at the hall once a month
>Take these readings and report the amount of carbon saved
>A Social Media person to promote the group activities
>Keep a track of who is using the thermal camera
>A rep on the hall committee
>Future projects ideas, anyone, anytime can do this
>A minute taker at the monthly meetings
>The Web site needs an overall www.south-hill.co.uk/SHARE
If you can fit one of these roles, please contact SHARE@south-hill.co.uk
SHARE also donated the top prize for the hall committee raffle, a new air fryer.
And ran the community car boot where people donated a huge range of items to be rehomed and collected £149 for hall funds.
It was a great community day, very well attended by all ages.
GOLBERDON Park Fun Day Celebrations MAY 24th 12 – 10:30pm
FREE Entry and FREE Parking … Overflow parking next to the park
From 12 Food & Drink Lic’d Bar
Vintage vehicles………… EBikes from Fully Charged Cornwall
Car Booters welcome
A range of Stalls …. Church Plants Sale.
Piecemakers TOMBOLA
Bouncy Castle
Community Treasure Chest CIC – Liskeard”s Community Recycling Hub
12:30 Motor Bikes arrive Hopefully
1pm Dog Show run by Camelot Kennels – Home of GSRE
2 – 5pm W.I Teas
3pm SHARE Solar Powered Scalextric challenge
3:30 Maypole Dancing
4pm TT Display www.facebook.com/groups/667639516580555
3 Live Bands 4:45 – 5:45pm CODE RED
6 – 7 Dale ROCKAHOLICS
7pm Break RAFFLE and announcements
7:15 – 8pm Rockaholics
8:30 – 10:30 THE METS
Raffle prizes can be dropped off at GREEN MEADOWS porch from Monday 12th … 200 meters from Golberdon crossroads on the South Hill Rd.
Please spread the word and get involved in some way, from helping to put up signs and bunting, putting out and picking up chairs, car parking stewards and lots of general help.
CELEBRATING SHARE 10 years anniversary and South Hill parish hall 60 years !!
